Local races set for November election
by Press-Banner
Sep 06, 2012 | 6454 views | 0 0 comments | 524 524 recommendations | email to a friend | print

What’s on the ballot? It might seem too early to ask that question, but September is the time to start reading about local measures and candidates to determine which to vote for.

Below is a list of the offices, measures and candidates that will appear on ballots in November. Voter pamphlet statements from many of the candidates are available at www.votescount.com. Over the next several months, the Press-Banner will write in detail about each local race.


Measure N

The County Transient Occupancy Tax, aka the hotel tax, would raise the tax on lodging facilities in the unincorporated area of the county by 1.5 percent, from 9.5 percent to 11 percent of the room rate. The additional revenue would go into the county’s general fund.


5th District County Supervisor (runoff following June primary)

Eric Hammer

Bruce McPherson


Scotts Valley Fire District (three four-year terms)

Jane Armstrong (incumbent)

Art Smith (incumbent)

Alan Smith (incumbent)

Lisa Ann Bustichi


Lompico County Water District (three four-year terms)

Bill Smallman (incumbent)

Richard Harrington (incumbent)

Lois Henry (incumbent)

Cheryl Trapp

Duane R. Davis

Gail A. Jones


San Lorenzo Valley Water District (two four-year terms)

Margaret Bruce (appointed incumbent)

Craig Austin

Stephen Swan

Randall C. Brown


Boulder Creek Recreation & Park District (three four-year terms)

Tess E. Fitzgerald (incumbent)

Brian Valdivia (incumbent)

Richard Chatoff

Michael Watson

Kimberly Main


The following candidates will be appointed in lieu of an election. In these cases, either no one challenged the incumbents or an incumbent did not file for office.


Scotts Valley City Council

Dene Bustichi

Donna Lind

Randy Johnson


San Lorenzo Valley Unified School District

Lea Dakota

Laura Dolson


Scotts Valley Unified School District

Sue Roth

Michael Shulman

Debbie Johnson (new trustee; incumbent did not file)


Bonny Doon Elementary School District

Julia B. Gaudinski

Jennifer Lynn Swift


Ben Lomond Fire Protection District

William “Biff” Beltz

Lisa M. Hill

Michael Ayers

Tom Maxson (two-year term)


Boulder Creek Fire Protection District

Jack Kuehl

Rick Rodgers

Robert Locatelli


Felton Fire Protection District

Robert L. Gelini

Steve A. Richmond

Ritch Cureton


Zayante Fire Protection District

Garry “Tick” Herceg

Kenneth Boynton

Lyle Fleming


Scotts Valley Water District

Chris Perri

Joe Miller

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at pbeditor@pressbanner.com.