‘Angels’ named by local organization
by Press-Banner
Nov 27, 2013 | 428 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Valley Churches United Missions has announced its annual awardees in advance of the December 5 Holiday Gala in Boulder Creek. The gala will take place from 6 to 10 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 5 at Scoppazzi’s Restaurant, 13300 Big Basin Way in Boulder Creek. Tickets are $55. For information: www.vcum.org



Phil Cleveland: A volunteer and donator since 2009, Cleveland cuts wood and delivers to clients unable to pickup.


Grace Cunningham: A food pantry volunteer often arrives before her shift to help fill bags, stock shelves and clean.


Richard and Teresa Determan: Richard is a board member and the couple has inspired St. Michael’s Catholic Church to support VCUM in many ways.


Shirley Miller: She and her family were assisted in the 1992. Remembering this, she started to volunteer in the food pantry filling bags, stocking shelves and helping with deliveries.


Business of the Year

Ernie’s Auto Center: Ernie Devonshire, Mary Ann Castello: Ernie’s has allowed VCUM to announce key events at the shop since 1987 and contributed to raffles and events. Devonshire has also inspired his employees to help VCUM.


Church of the Year

Skyland Community Church: The church has actively contributed since 2001 and their woman’s group support year-round projects.


Holiday Event Organizers

Moose Lodge 545: Since 1999 they have faithfully ran events to benefits VCUM with women’s group leader Lauri Grundy given many hours. The group has put on food drives since 1999 and ran the Scotts Valley Light Cruise events and holiday dinners to raise funds.


Scotts Valley Chamber of Commerce: Sharolynn Ullestad, past Executive Director

Ullestad supported VCUM’s many programs with advertising and the chamber office became a drop-off center for Scotts Valley residents and businesses.


School youth of the Year

Tyler Bach: A 2012 Scotts Valley High School graduate, Bach wrote about his experience volunteering with VCUM.


Organizations of the Year

Felton Business Association: A longtime supporter of VCUM, the group works closely with the Felton Fire Department and organizes the Memorial Day parade and festival in which VCUM participates.


Men’s Legacy Division: The group volunteers for VCUM events and sponsors food drives, providing setup and volunteers.


Project Purr: Under the direction of Co-Founder Lynne Achterberg the organization has provided pet food and supplies for low income people. Since 2008 their pet item donations have totaled $34,848.


Media of the Year

John Sandidge KPIG/KGSL Radio: Since the 1990’s Sandidge has been a strong supporter of announcing VCUM programs including giving VCUM free advertising.


Memorial Recognitions: Dolores Crosson, 1987 to 2011; Virgil Grimes, 1988 to 2012; Saul Hoffman, 1989 to 1995; Susan Mihalik, 1986 to 1990; Chuck Oakley, 1997 to 2010; Lisa Pierce, 1987 to 2009; Diane Welton, 1988 to 2003.


Special Memorial Recognitions

Alvin Scarborough 2011, 2012, 2013; Susan Thieman, 1987 to 2011 and Jeanne Goret 1987 to 2013.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage your online comments in this public forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a forum for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Readers may report such inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at pbeditor@pressbanner.com.